50 Facts About Me That Have Nothing to Do With Mental Illness

Given that my blog is specifically focused on mental illness it probably seems as if I don’t have a life outside that topic.  So here it is:

50 Facts About Me That Have Nothing to Do With Mental Illness

  1. As a child I took exactly one baton lesson.  My mom got me to the second lesson late and I freaked out, but instead of comforting me she withdrew me from the class.
  2. I once performed in a play that was interrupted by a tornado.  After the all clear signal was given, we picked up right where we left off.
  3. A play I wrote was produced by my college theatre department.
  4. My middle school best friend’s mom was an artist and my family paid her to give me art lessons.  The only thing I remember from them is making brooches out of Friendly Plastic.
  5. I wasn’t satisfied with a 1420 on the SAT so I took it again and did worse.
  6. I was on the Spelling Team in middle and high school, and senior year I was awarded a dictionary for having the best overall score throughout high school.
  7. I started college as a double major in Vocal Music Performance and Christian Ministries.  I can’t sing, and am now an atheist.
  8. I sprained both ankles in college.  The right one doing step aerobics on the day before freshman spring break, and the left one falling off a ceiling rafter the day after junior spring break.
  9. The first book I wrote was a children’s book called The Great Karat Mystery.  It was about a rabbit looking for his giant orange diamond.
  10. I received third place in a college poetry contest and had my poem published in the campus literary magazine.
  11. My first job was as a work-study intern for a semi-professional theatre company.
  12. My favorite television shows in elementary school were Sesame Street and The Price is Right.
  13. My favorite television shows in middle school were Ghostwriter and Square One Television.
  14. Some other favorite shows include The X-Files24NCISPretty Little LiarsWonderfallsCrossing Jordan, and Elementary.
  15. Senior year of high school I earned the highest score in the state on the Level 4 National Spanish Exam.
  16. When I was 13 I got severe headaches for which no cause was ever found.  They seemed to be triggered by exposure to chlorine and went away after that summer.
  17. Some songs I wrote were recorded by a friend, but I loaned out my only copy and it was never returned.
  18. The first play I was in was Annie Get Your Gun.  I was one of the children who ran through the audience shouting, “Indians!  Indians!”
  19. I taught myself to knit and crochet strictly from reading books.
  20. I hate to have my back scratched.  People either do it so lightly it tickles or so hard it hurts; there is no in-between.
  21. I fall asleep every night listening to ocean sounds.
  22. I am completely addicted to the Wonka Randoms gummy candies.  My favorites are the ones with gel in the middle.
  23. I love to take photographs, but not ones of people.
  24. When I edit photographs I invariably make them as vibrantly colored as possible.
  25. I enjoy making mix CDs that tell a story, but the last project I started was a set of 4 interrelated CDs and it was so important to me that I was never satisfied enough to finish it.
  26. I found 50 Shades of Grey boring.  Not enough whips and chains.
  27. A friend once told me I urgently needed to come to the church nursery.  When I got there, the problem was that they didn’t know which child had a dirty diaper; I could tell by the smell.
  28. I don’t have the patience to sit through a 90-minute movie, but can binge-watch half a season of a TV show in one sitting.
  29. When reading comic strips I can’t skip over the ones I don’t like.  By the time I know which one it is I’ve already read it.
  30. Senior year of high school I was in the yearbook photos for clubs to which I never even belonged.
  31. My childhood home was designed by my grandpa and I helped build it.
  32. I read all the Harry Potter books on their release dates, but only because I loathe spoilers.
  33. Speaking of spoilers, I hate TV Guide because their front cover has ruined shows for me multiple times.
  34. I can’t eat Alfredo sauce or green olives because they make me nauseated.
  35. Every time I was sick as a child my grandma fed me applesauce mixed with crushed aspirin.  It made me throw up every time.
  36. An interviewer asked why I’d had such frequent job changes.  I didn’t realize 2 jobs in 5 years was frequent.
  37. When I feel really bad about myself I dye my hair red and instantly feel better.
  38. I always wished I had red hair, green eyes, an outie belly button, and was left-handed.
  39. I’m drawn to stories about orphans.
  40. The TV character I most relate to is Sara Sidle from CSI, yet we’re really nothing alike.
  41. In high school I was disappointed that there was not enough interest for them to offer a shorthand course.
  42. When I was 4 they asked for the bigger kids to come dance on stage with the Smurfs at an amusement park.  I ran up on stage anyway.
  43. I was terrified of the Headless Horseman until watching the show Sleepy Hollow.
  44. During my last attempt at college I planned on a minor in forensic science, and was completely inept at dusting for fingerprints.
  45. I used to participate in the local library’s summer reading program, but mostly re-read the same books every summer.
  46. I enjoy making chainmaille jewelry, but my hands shake when I grip the pliers.
  47. I once got in trouble for floating in a swimming pool because the owner thought I was dead.
  48. I put itching powder down a girl’s shirt in middle school and she had an allergic reaction.
  49. My favorite zoo animal is the zebra and I have tons of zebra items because I can’t stop people from buying them for me.
  50. I got rejected from Harvard because a professor flaked on sending in my recommendation letter.
One thought on “50 Facts About Me That Have Nothing to Do With Mental Illness

  1. Pingback: Nothing to Say | Stuff That Needs Saying

Leave a Reply

