Super Picky Directions

In inpatient they are really good about accommodating client preferences in regards to medication.  My BuSpar prescription was originally written with the directions “TAKE ONE TABLET BY MOUTH THREE TIMES A DAY AS NEEDED”.  The next time I entered inpatient, they were expecting me to come ask for the BuSpar if I needed it, but at that point I’d been consistently taking it on a schedule and when I told the psychiatrist that it got put on a schedule.  A very strange schedule, that I’m sure made sense to them, but I was used to taking it with meals and that lining up pretty well with when I started to get anxious.  So I mentioned that and next thing I knew I was getting it with meals.

Latuda is designed to be taken with a meal – it requires 350 calories to be metabolized properly.  Unfortunately, if I take it with a meal I am going to be antsy and irritable within 60-90 minutes and have to resolve that by going to sleep.  So I’ve traditionally taken the Latuda at bedtime, with Brent’s approval, despite the fact that I rarely eat that large of a snack before bed.

On my latest inpatient visit they were quite agreeable to moving it from breakfast (their preferred time) to supper, but reluctant when I asked to wait until bedtime.  The first night the nurse came to check the calories in my snack and made me take a second carton of milk because there weren’t 350 calories.  The next night, I had some Fritos given to me by another client and that nurse suggested I take peanut butter and graham crackers to fill up the rest of the required calories.  I did not want peanut butter and graham crackers, but I ate them and was halfway through the Fritos when she came back with the Latuda and didn’t want to give it to me because I hadn’t finished my snack!  I promised to eat the rest of it but felt an overwhelming temptation to throw it away out of spite.

I picked up my Latuda prescription today and happened to notice the directions.  It now says “TAKE ONE TABLET BY MOUTH AT BEDTIME AS DIRECTED WITH 350 CALORIES SNACK”.

One thought on “Super Picky Directions

Leave a Reply

