Expressions of Aging

My great-grand aunt died in late March.  Her funeral was held on a Monday, when I needed to be at my practicum class at college.  While on campus, I was in the student union racing past some random booths that were set up for various organizations.  I saw one that said “social work” and turned around.  The Social Work program was promoting a contest they were running for images related to aging.  The winning image will be used on materials for the Social Work program that promote aging issues.

While at this booth I met one of the professors from Social Work and briefly spoke with her about my interest in the MSW program.  When I got home I sent two e-mails: one to this professor to provide a further introduction about my background and interests, and one to enter the photo below in the contest.

an-expression-of-aging

I received a call today that my image had been chosen as the winner.  I had to fill out a form to get the prize, and the professor who ran the contest also wants to interview me for the department’s newsletter.  I am excited and terrified, but I think mostly excited knowing that my beautiful great-grand aunt is going to be immortalized on these brochures.

2 thoughts on “Expressions of Aging

  1. This is so wonderful. I adored Miss Dot. She was a woman of influence in my life. Her daughter, Pam and I remain friends to this day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miss Dot was a beautiful woman throughout the ages. She had style, color (even in colorful language-lol!), and a depth of soul. She could spoke a phony behavior and would call it out. My memories of her still inspire me. This is a beautiful picture of Miss Dot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

